DIY – Make an Inexpensive Archery Target

Archery Target 1

Prior to last year’s bow hunting season, I was complaining to my buddy about how much money I’d already put into my bow and gear.  Between clothing, bow and arrows (with accessories,) tree climbing gear, etc., my meager bank account was looking pretty grim.  I was talking about needing to purchase a target or some bales of straw for practice shooting and he told me about a quick, convenient and nearly free target to make.  I’m all about making things myself and about saving money so I went about making a target.  After two years of using this type of target, I’ve found that it works great for field points and occasional broadheads as well.

Here’s all that you need.  Note that you probably already have everything you need on hand.

  • Cardboard Box
  • Duct Tape
  • Old Blankets, towels, or clothing

Archery Target 2

Stuff all of your extra blankets (that’s what I used) into the box.

Archery Target 3

Duct tape the box closed.

Archery Target 4

Make an “x” or draw a target or do whatever you feel comfortable shooting at and there you have it.

Archery Target 5

One of my friends and fellow bloggers, Steve Galea makes his targets similar except that he uses bags.  It looks like it would work as well.  If you’d like to read how he does his, click here.

As always, thanks for visiting SmoothingIt.com!  If you’ve made targets like this, are thinking of making one, or have a better idea, I’d love to hear about it and so would the other readers of Smoothingit.com.

7 thoughts on “DIY – Make an Inexpensive Archery Target

    • That sounds like a good way to do it. I’ve thought about trying a military duffel bag but I’d hate to destroy one as they are pretty handy to have around.

  1. Timing cool Friday some friends just bought a shotgun they askes me to teach them some fundanentals they had real targets and stuff guess what i introduced theem to sooting at coke cans and tide bottles and it worked

    • There’s certainly nothing wrong with using old soda cans or plastic jugs for targets. I’ve done so many, many times. Just make sure to clean up after you’re finished shooting!

Leave a comment