In the Mountains

Monongahela National Forest

My alarm rang at 6:29 this morning.  At 7:30 I found the motivation to rise and greet the day.  Misti and I stepped onto the cabin’s front porch and stared out into the Monongahela National Forest.  We laid our mats onto the porch floor and began a stretching routine I adapted from the Army.  The slow and deliberate rotations and stretches relax and strengthen the mind as well as the body.  As I rotated my neck, the various pops and cracks reminded me of the past few weeks’ stresses.  My neck, as well as the rest of my body, felt tight, sore, and neglected.

After the stretching routine, we enjoyed our first cups of coffee together as we stared off into the trees.  We have somehow managed to arrange an entire month in the mountains, and this morning cup of coffee was our first chance to appreciate our wilderness environment and our good fortune to have this opportunity.  We both dream of living a simple life in the mountains, and this month may be as close as we come to attaining this dream for several more years.

After coffee, Misti went inside to work with Turtle on the letter A and to provide me with quiet time for writing.  Other than last night’s journal entry, this was the first time I wrote in nearly a month.  Each and every word was a struggle as I chipped away the rust from my fingers and my mind.  Even though the writing was slow, I did manage to write two blog posts, review a story I’m trying to publish, and write in my journal.  While working on my first blog post in a few weeks, a hummingbird fluttered around the deck.  Even though I was supposed to be writing, I couldn’t keep my attention from drifting to the incessant buzz of the hummingbird’s wings.

After our unprocessed and unrefined whole–food lunch, I worked around the cabin.  Good, honest, manual labor.  I moved and stacked firewood, trimmed, and push–mowed the property.  Although hot and tired, I felt great.

Two deer skirted the edge of the property this evening, and I saw a small snake slither under a tree stump.

I feel at home in the mountains.

11 thoughts on “In the Mountains

  1. hey i just found your blog & i love it! this post is absolutely amazing! i recently started my blog & would be stoked if your could check it out & give me some feedback. looking forward to more of your posts!
    cristina ☼

    • Thanks a lot! I checked it out briefly and it looks like it’s going well. My internet availability is shaky at best so I’ll give it a more thorough read when I get back to civilization. Thanks again!

  2. Very happy for you there – enjoy! A whole month…
    Your writing habit will be fine; those aren’t distractions, being where you are, they’ll likely be creative inspiration.
    Have fun!

    • Thank you, sir.

      I’ve been filling page after page in the journal, trying to get back in the swing of things. I’m looking forward to Wednesday morning when I dive back into my ongoing novel. I’m about a 1/4th finished with the first draft and hope that I can get a complete draft before leaving the mountains. It helps a lot that the novel is set in the mountains I see from the front porch!

    • Great hearing from you, my friend. Hope all is well up north!

      I’ve actually debated creating a YouTube video that demonstrates the entire routine. I’ve been doing it on and off for years and find that it is a great way to start the day or close out the evening. As mentioned in the post, it loosens and strengthens the mind as well as the body. I’ll let you know as soon as I get something written up or a video created!

Leave a Reply

