One Year of SmoothingIt.com

Duncan by the Fire

One year ago tonight, I published the first post on SmoothingIt.com.

SmoothingIt began as a tribute to George Washington Sears.  It has swayed off course from time to time but I’ve tried to present camping and outdoor gear and advice in the Old Woodsman’s fashion.  Sears’ writing has been the biggest influence on my outdoor activities.  I’d like to think that he’d be proud to know that there are still woodsmen out there who admire and respect him and his work.

I’ve really enjoyed this past year but instead of talking about me or my blog, I’m going to stick with what I think truly matters.

First off, I’d like to say thank you to all of the SmoothingIt.com followers.  Your support has meant the world to me.  So again, thank you for following.

Additionally, I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has commented on SmoothingIt.com over the past year.  Your comments have been a huge inspiration to me and have added a level of community to SmoothingIt.com as well as providing readers with a variety of opinions.  Thank you all for taking the time to comment!

Thank you, dad.  I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to read my posts and providing your input from time to time.  It really means a lot!

Above all, I’d like to thank my wife.  My goodness, I’m blessed.  She’s worked nearly as hard as I have on SmoothingIt.  She’s been the chief photographer, editor, proofreader, sounding board, and inspiration.  Thank you, baby.  I love you.

I’ve also made some new friends over the course of the past year.  I’d be remiss without mentioning a few of them now.  If you get a chance, you should check out these blogs:  homesteaddadThe Weekend WoodsmanKayak Fishing Fever, and Steve Galea Outdoors.  These guys are all awesome.

I’d also like to mention Patrons of the Pit.  It’s a fantastic blog full of mouth-watering recipes and exquisite writing.  In my humble opinion, PotP is one of the best blogs in the blogosphere.  David Tripp’s Blog is another personal favorite.  David’s writing is insightful and motivating and his watercolor paintings are amazing.  I’m always excited to see new posts from either of these two sites.  Not only are they exceptional bloggers, I consider them both friends as well as peers.

This has been a great year.  I’ve learned a lot about blogging and have enjoyed the experience.

Thank you!

11 thoughts on “One Year of SmoothingIt.com

  1. Thank you. I have enjoyed your style and devotion. It’s good stuff. I’m excited to follow you through this education process and your path to your goal. Your a gentleman and a gentle man who loves both his family and the great outdoors. Apologize to your wife for me. It thought she was a timer setting on your camera. Lol

    • Thanks a lot, buddy! I sincerely appreciate your support. As to my wife, I’m sure she won’t mind. Actually, if I am out on an alone adventure, I typically do my own photos. However, if I’m doing a product review or if there are pictures of me doing anything, it’s almost certain that she’s behind the camera. I’m a lucky, lucky man.

  2. I didn’t realize that we started our blogs on the same day! I have enjoyed your blog, and sharing in the community that forms around it. I look forward to another great year from you, and learning and sharing more. Congratulations.

    • Thanks a lot, buddy! I didn’t realize we started on the same day either. I knew it was close but same day is pretty remarkable. Congratulations to you as well!

  3. Congrats, Duncan. And happy birthday to SmoothingIt.com.

    A very heart-felt and wonderful post. Thanks for the kind words too!

    Our blogs were born around the same time, looks like, as PotP kicked off about a year ago last week. Yours has at once been a pleasure to correspond with, for I adore the way of life you banter so deeply about.

    Anyways, I agree, the comments sure inspire a blogger to keep after it. We live for that pat on the back! In this last year of blogging, I read a line once that kind of stuck. It said there are two kinds of bloggers. Successful ones, and those that quit. I don’t know if its true or not, but it certainly inspires a blogger to keep going.

    Anyways, have a good one, Duncan!

    • Thanks a lot!

      I’ve read similar quotes concerning successful blogs. However, I’m not sure how I want to define success. I’m actually going to try a completely different approach for this year and see what happens.

      By the way, I don’t blow smoke. Ever. I praised your blog because I think it’s fantastic. Keep it up!

      • Thanks much, Duncan, appreciate it.

        If you love to do what the good Lord designed you to do, and do it with and unashamed joy in your heart, then that is success enough to last the ages.

        You keep it up too, man! Blessings!

  4. You are more than welcome know that the honor is mine I started reading the post because I love you. I continue reading them because they are good . By the way I continue loving you

  5. Better late than never. I’m catching up on my blog reading and this, of course, is more than a whistle stop on my journey. Great blog. I really enjoy the practical advice and woodsy wisdom dispensed. The off topics are pretty cool too. Keep up the good work. Here’s to another great year od Smoothing it.

Leave a Reply

