Nessmuk’s Woodcraft and Camping

George Washington Sears (Nessmuk)

George Washington Sears (Nessmuk)

I’ve been slow to post lately.  This delay is mostly due to an overwhelming volume of research and paper-writing.  Over the past two weeks, I’ve had two 15-20 page research papers due and it has definitely taken its toll on my free time.  That being said, I completed one of those papers on the writings of George Washington Sears, aka Nessmuk.  Actually, the paper was specifically about Woodcraft and Camping.  By leaving out Forest Runes and his correspondence to Forest and Stream, I’ll be able to do separate papers about them in the future.

I’ve read Woodcraft many, many times.  And now I’ve completed a significant amount of research about Sears’ philosophies, environmental concerns, woodcraft and camping advice, and his poetic writing style.  I’ve loved his writing  since the first time that I read Woodcraft and Camping and thought it appropriate to complete my paper about it.

If you haven’t taken the opportunity to read Woodcraft and Camping, the lesser known Forest Runes or his letters to Forest and Stream, you are missing out on a fantastic writer’s thoughts and opinions on camping, hunting, fishing, woodcraft, and nature.  Take a moment and click on “Downloads” and download Woodcraft and Camping today.  It’s free.  It’s fairly short.  And you have my guarantee that you’ll enjoy it.  It will download as a PDF.  The only problem that I’ve encountered is that the manuscript has been scanned and processed with an Optical Character Recognition program so you will find a few errors from time to time.  Even so, you’ll be able to figure out what the Old Woodsman wrote.

I hope you enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Nessmuk’s Woodcraft and Camping

  1. You’re a busy busy man. It’s good to have goals. I enjoy listening to you tackle those challenges. I will try that download. Thanks.

    • Thanks a lot. I do stay pretty busy but never so much that I can’t enjoy life. Dolce far niente, you could say. I hope you enjoy the read! Sears has definitely influenced my outdoor lifestyle.

  2. Ah yes, one of my very favorite books. I got a copy of that many years ago, and have been happily delving through it ever since. In many ways, it formed my attitude and style of taking to the out-of-doors. Worthy stuff.

    Thanks Duncan!

    • Very nice! It has definitely influenced me and my love of the wilderness.

      Have you had an opportunity to read Forest Runes? It’s a collection of poems with a lengthy prose introduction. I don’t think it’s as enjoyable as Woodcraft but it’s still worth the time to read it.

      Thanks for visiting and thanks for commenting!

      • No, never have had the pleasure yet for that read. I think you may have just given me the perfect, fire-side reading material for this winter. Very cool..

        Always a pleasure, Duncan.

        Take care!

Leave a Reply

