Schrade 8ot Stockman “Old Timer” Review

Schrade 8ot Stockman Old Timer

Are you looking for a perfect all-purpose carry knife?  Are you infatuated with nostalgia and enjoy knives that have stood the test of time?  Look no further than the Schrade 8ot Stockman.

I was given one, new in box, for my birthday in July.  It was a difficult decision to open it.  But, I’m not one for knife collecting.  I’m one for knife using.  I finally decided to open my “Old Timer” when the mercury dropped low enough to warrant denim jeans.  I carry a Spyderco Delica clip-knife throughout summer.  But when it comes to fall and winter, I prefer a classic pocket-knife design that fits in my jeans’ coin pocket.  Thus far, I’ve used it for roughly two months but wanted to wait until I used it on my yearly backwoods adventure before writing a review.

Upon opening the knife, the first thing I noticed was how sturdy it felt.  Nothing moved.  Nothing rattled.  It felt SOLID.  Of course, the blade hinges were stiff – and still are – but they are beginning to loosen from repeated use.

Upon opening each blade, I contemplated their intended uses and how I intended to use them.

The Clip Blade.  The clip blade is a bit longer than I had expected which has turned out to be an excellent surprise.  It is powerful and has handled the largest jobs I’ve attempted with ease.  From cutting rope and whittling to cutting beef and trout, the stockman’s clip blade is exceptional.

Spey Blade.  Spey blades were originally intended to castrate livestock.  I’m no farmer or cowboy so I’ve yet to use it for this purpose.  However, the Old Timer’s spey blade is a fantastic all-purpose blade.  This is my go-to blade and I have used it for everything.  It can take a beating and continue cutting like new.

Schrade 8ot Stockman in Action

The Old Timer in Action.

Sheepfoot.  The Old Timer’s sheepfoot blade is spectacular!  This blade is often used as a carpenter’s blade but I’ve found it perfect for peeling food.  It’s point is perfect for peeling apples.  I also try to “baby” this blade so that it stays sharp so that even well after a sharpening, I have a blade that is ultra-sharp and ready for use.

Overall, I’ve found that the Schrade 8ot Stockman “Old Timer” is the epitome of small to medium -sized pocket knives.  I fully expect that when I’m an old man, I’ll be rocking on my front porch, smoking a pipe, and using my Old timer to whittle trinkets for my grandchildren.

7 thoughts on “Schrade 8ot Stockman “Old Timer” Review

    • That’s a great point.

      The clip blade is the long pointed one.
      The spey blade is shorter and almost rounded at the end.
      The sheepfoot is the short straight edge.

      In retrospect, I should have included that information in the post.

      Thanks for pointing it out, buddy!

  1. Great knife Duncan,would you use it for guting and skinning at all ?
    I have just been given a Case medium CV Stockman and was wondering about its use and limitations,only used saks before.
    Some advice please
    Thanks
    Roger

    • Roger,
      It’s been a while since I’ve heard from you. I hope all is well with you and yours!

      As to the knife question, I would consider using the stockman for dressing fish and maybe small game. However, it would not be my first choice. I prefer a small fixed-blade knife for dressing everything from trout to whitetail deer. There are a couple of reasons for this. First and most importantly, I feel like a fixed blade is safer. Perhaps this isn’t as relevant for fish and maybe not for small game, but even so, I’d much prefer knowing that the blade isn’t going to close on my fingers. Next is the clean factor. Fixed blades are easy to clean. Folders like our stockmans have a lot of nooks and crannies for blood and guts to collect. I often use mine to cut my food before I eat it and I don’t want blood and guts or their associated germs in my mouth.

      If you go to my “gear” page, you’ll see a link for “the Duncan trio.” This is essentially my updated version of George Washington Sears’ “Nessmuk trio.” It provides a fairly logical idea of having three bladed tools and what they are used for. Of course, you can omit the hatchet if you’re not camping or you want to lighten your load. Even on a day trip hunting, I carry both my folder and my fixed blade but rarely take the hatchet out for a hunt.

      If you don’t have a fixed-blade that you’re comfortable with, I highly recommend the Schrade Sharpfinger. There’s a link for those on the “gear” page as well. Actually, there are two Sharpfingers on the “gear” page – start with the black handled one first, then if you’re interested, look at the scrimshaw. I’ve yet to use it for deer, but it is perfect for fish and small game and I fully suspect that it will work as well for larger game.

      I hope this answers your questions. If not, let me know.

      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

