A Short Poem

Cranberry River

I haven’t written any poetry in quite some time.  I’m afraid I’m a bit rusty but sometimes the mood strikes.  I wrote this shortly after the yellow jacket incident while relaxing on a rock and listening to the river.

MOUNTAIN STREAM

Wind chill factors within this valley
It passes through the mountains and my shirt
Betraying the stillness of autumn leaves

I sit, a lone rock on the water
A micro world from a bird’s eye view
An insect’s social network

Light drizzle from dark skies
Obscures the warmth of God’s Sun
Nightfall will come early

Deer visit my camp to inquire
about this rare witness to their family
A mother and her babies

Travel is tough on rough terrain
This mountain stream is a maker of men
Who go out to play like boys

Leave a Reply

