Becoming a Better Marksman

Military Alternate Target

With a little knowledge, dedication, and a lot of practice, anyone can learn to shoot a rifle or pistol and shoot it well.  If you’re new to firearms, shooting or hunting, this  information will be a good place to start.  If you’re somewhat experienced with shooting, keep reading.  You may find something of value as well.

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been shooting for as long as I can remember.  My father taught me at a young age about firearms and safety.  Since then, I’ve went through countless military and civilian ammunition and have made it a point to learn everything I could about shooting to ensure that I am as accurate and tactically trained as possible.

Over the next three posts, we’re going to look at some fundamentals of marksmanship.  Of course, I’m always concerned with safety so in the next post, we’ll go over firearms handling and safety.  Following the safety post, we’ll look at some considerations for shooting rifles.  I’ll show you different positions for shooting and discuss their pros and cons.

After the safety and rifle firing positions posts, you’re going to get some expert advice on shooting fundamentals, firearms safety, and basic pistol stances and grips.  When I started this series, I began discussions with HomesteadDad about doing a guest post about pistol accuracy.  He definitely came through!  Not only did he do a great write up about pistol accuracy, he also wrote about safety and marksmanship fundamentals providing a much better block of instruction than I would have given you.

If you have any questions now or as we go over points, feel free to ask.  Also, if you have any pointers that HomesteadDad or I have left out, feel free to share.  I’m sure other SmoothingIt.com readers would love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

