Opening Day of Bow Season

High Country Bow String

Yesterday was Saturday, September 28th, 2013.  I’ve been focusing on this date for months now and to my dismay, it passed without grand stories of whitetail deer, incredible patience or tenderloin dinners.

I had imagined myself putting my gear on beside my old Ford, walking through the wilderness with only my headlamp to guide me, creeping into my natural blind and patiently waiting for a glorious 10-point buck to find its way into my hunting area.  I had even enjoyed the thoughts of texting pictures to my friends and oh, that exciting call home to tell my wife of my success!

Instead of doing these things, I drove to Winchester to visit Gander Mountain.  A few days ago the manager called to let me know that they still hadn’t received my string and cables and that I should consider picking up my bow.

This whole ordeal has really taken the wind from my sails.  I’ve been so frustrated about it that I have tried not to think about the outdoors, much less write about it.  But I’m not one to let things get me down for long.  Hopefully I’ll figure out something about my bow but even if I don’t, I’m reminding myself that there is still squirrel season, rifle season, trout fishing and a backwoods adventure over the next couple of months.  So, hopefully I’ll keep publishing interesting, entertaining, and relevant posts.

In the immediate future, I’ll be publishing a series on marksmanship that will definitely help you become a better shooter.  Additionally, it looks like I’m even going to have a guest post from a well-respected fellow blogger about pistol accuracy as part of this series.

Until then, watch your top knot.

Duncan

9 thoughts on “Opening Day of Bow Season

    • I don’t really know yet. I know a guy that may be able to help. But with my time being so limited, I’m almost at a point where I’m just going to stick with squirrel and rifle season. My initial intent was to have my bow sighted in and all of my practice done prior to starting school. Now that it’s here, I’m really busy. That being said, I’m having a tough time dealing with the thoughts of letting a year pass without bowhunting.

      • With our move I am in a similar situation. I hope to get out at least some during bow season, but it may be very limited. I hope you are able to find a solution, or deal with no bow season well.

      • Thanks. Moving definitely takes up a lot of time. Hopefully we’ll both be writing about fantastic deer hunting stories, whether by bow, gun or hand, by the end of the year!

      • If I get a deer by hand, I will be amazed at my own awesomeness. There was an email forward that went around a few years back about a guy describing his attempt to lasso a deer. It was hilarious. If I can find it, maybe I will make it into a blog post.

  1. Holy crap- how had they still not gotten your bowstring? What on Earth kind of business are they, to just hold on to your stuff, and then tell you they can’t fix it for you? That is a total crock. I’m sorry to hear that happened. I’m slightly outraged on your behalf.

  2. I consider myself a sailor because I have sailed solo and know basic tacts. I hate when the wind falls from my sails. My folks once got stranded on Lake Ontario for hours when sailing with a friend. A dead calm. It’s a hopeless feeling of quiet despair.

    That string situation should have been resolved long ago. Can you contact the maker or specialty shops that can properly handle that make.

    I had plans on sailing the kayak a lot this summer. I made it out once. For 27 mins.

    Make a new plan.

    • Thanks a lot! I feel your pain. Twenty seven minutes isn’t much time for enjoyment! I suppose you just keep moving forward and hope that things work out. The bow issue has been a real pain but maybe it’s a blessing since my time seems to be so limited these days.

Leave a Reply

