Mid-Atlantic Emergency Preparedness & Survival Expo (MAPSE)

Triton

Although I don’t consider myself much of a prepper or survivalist similar to those you may see on TV, I’ve been interested in preparedness and survival since years before it became “trendy.”  When I heard about the Mid-Atlantic Emergency Preparedness & Survival Expo (MAPSE), I decided that it would be worth a Sunday visit.

The expo took place at the Washington County Agricultural Education Center in Boonsboro, MD and was well worth the hour drive.

MAPSE

Based on the information provided on the MAPSE website, I anticipated quite a few vendors as well as a few lectures and classes of interest.

I have some qualms with the prepper industry and it’s scare tactic marketing and I wasn’t surprised to see a few vendors there with overpriced products that they tried to scare you into “needing.”  However, there were quite a few vendors there that were actually selling quality useful products.  Noteworthy vendors included:

Project Appleseed

Project Appleseed teaches rifle skills to preserve the American way of life.

Doom and BloomThe first lecture that I chose to attend was Dr. Joseph Alton’s “Survival Medicine:  When Help is Not on the Way.”  It was an hour-long lecture/class on survival medicine basics.  Overall, the lecture was fairly basic but I did pick up a few new tips to augment my medical training.  I will likely purchase his book “The Survival Medicine Handbook: A Guide for When Help Is NOT on the Way.”

My wife attended Dr. Tom Stoner’s “Anthrax, Smallpox, Dirty Bomb:  Major Medical Concerns That Threaten Our Existence and How to Prepare for These.”  I opted not to attend this lecture as I spent years as a weapons of mass destruction response technician.

While she attended Dr. Stoner’s lecture, I attended Tim MacWelch’s “The Survival Priorities and Their Relevance to Bug Out and Survival Gear.”  Tim is a survival instructor for Advanced Survival Training and was clearly a subject matter expert.  He provided an excellent lecture that was both informative and entertaining.  I spoke with him briefly after his lecture concerning my biggest weakness in bushcraft – identifying plants and trees.  Fortunately for me, he will be teaching a few classes on this subject about 20 minutes from my house later in the fall.

I spoke briefly with Brian Alsip of Backwoods Archery.  We discussed bows and bowhunting and discussed him working on my bow after this season.  As I previously posted, I really need a new string and I’d like to upgrade my arrow rest, sites and quiver.

Overall, the MAPSE was a worthwhile visit.  Most of the vendors were selling quality useful products.  The lectures were definitely the best part of the expo.  They were informative and useful (if I had had more time, I would have attended quite a few more of them.)  I don’t know if or when the next expo is scheduled but I will definitely try to attend again.  If I find out about one in the future, I’ll post it here at SmoothingIt.com so that if you are in the area, you can check it out.

2 thoughts on “Mid-Atlantic Emergency Preparedness & Survival Expo (MAPSE)

    • Thanks a lot! I had never heard of Appleseed until the expo. I was pretty impressed with their program. Hopefully sometime my wife and I can go and make a “date” out of it. Of course if I do, I’ll provide a post about it. lol.

Leave a Reply

