Schrade Old Timer 8ot Stockman Dilemma

IMG_7749

I’ve recently come into a fantastic Schrade Old Timer 8ot Stockman and I’d like some opinions on what I should do with it.

If you read my previous post about classic pocket knives, I’m a big fan of stockman and whittler knife designs.  I’ve been dissatisfied with my Boker stockman’s performance and have been looking for the perfect replacement for a while.

Well, I have to give credit where it’s due.  My wife really came through for me on my birthday (July 7th if you want to send gifts.)  Aside from the excellent selection of pipe tobacco, the pipe stand and the pipe ashtray, she surprised me with a knife that I’d been eyeing for a while.

About a week prior to my birthday, my wife and I were searching through an antique store looking for a chest of drawers to refurbish.  I came across this Old Timer locked away in a glass case.  It was made in 2000 and is  still in its original case.

Here’s where I have to point out a few things.  The Schrade Old Timer fits all of my requirements for the perfect stockman replacement in the Duncan Trio.  It’s in perfect condition, is an appropriate size (too small won’t due and too big is overkill,) it’s pre-2004 which means it’s still quality American workmanship, and is a truly beautiful piece that I am sure will look nice beside either of my Schrade Sharpfinger fixed-blade knives.

So here is my dilemma.  I now have three options on how to handle this knife.

First, I can open the case and begin carrying it immediately.

Second, I can leave it in its case and keep it as a collectible.

Third, I could sell it.  Based on a few ebay searches, I could sell it for six times what we paid for it.

Of course, there are pros and cons to everything.  I’d really like to hear your thoughts about the knife and what I should do with it.

If you’re interested in knives and bladed tools, you should “follow” SmoothingIt.com via WordPress or email.  You’ll receive notifications of new posts covering topics about knives, guns, hunting, fishing, and camping.

15 thoughts on “Schrade Old Timer 8ot Stockman Dilemma

  1. Happy birth day Duncan.Wonderfull gives,as regards to the knive, use it let it make history look after it and in time pass it on.
    Roger.

    • Thanks for the input Roger. Not sure yet but probably gonna open it up and use it. It’s pretty much spot on what I’ve been looking for in a folder.

  2. It was a wonderful gift from your loving wife. If I were you I’d keep it and use it and remember that every time…..Worth far more than the money you’d get. Just saying….

  3. Duncan,

    I enjoy knife collecting. It is my low budget hobby. Any serious collector might tell me to give them away. I have a few pieces I have kept for tens years or more in the original packaging. Football teams, NASCAR, and Vitrinox
    Those are my favorites and may have increased in value by a percent or two. Real value gains come after the twenty and thirty year marks.

    Is there a knife you want more that you could purchase with the eBay sale and profit?

    Can you sit still while you keep it in storage? Can you put it to use and feel its value through pleasure knowing its collectible value is diminishing with each blade stroke??

    How special is it?

    So keep it and wait for it to increase in value in how many years.
    Or use it for pleasure and service satisfied by ownership and use.
    Lastly sell it at the best price and buy yourself or wife or children something special.

    Here’s what I would do…,

    I don’t know. Lol

  4. I am with Steve. The way I see it you really only have two options. If your wife is okay with you selling it then that is an option. Otherwise you open it and use it, knives were meant to be used. Good luck with your decision.

      • Then I say keep it and start using it today. Enjoy a quality blade, as you well know they are hard to come by and you will probably kick yourself if you sell it.

  5. Depends on what you paid and how much six times that is but id say keep it if it suits your requirements, don’t think you can go wrong with an old timer. However, if six times your purchase price equals a knife that you’ve always wanted and have had your eye on for a long time put it on ebay. Anyway, just my theory of knife relativity.

    • That’s a good call. Six times would likely put me into a pretty nice upper end knife. But then again, this is a pretty sweet knife and I’m certain that it would last my lifetime and probably Turtle’s as well. thanks for the input!

  6. I learn by an Italian woman that you should never buy yourself a knife, it always have to be a present from someone! So I think you should definitely taking it out of the plastic and use it, and keep it in your pocket until it’s no good!

  7. Pingback: Schrade 8ot Stockman “Old Timer” Review | SmoothingIt.com

Leave a Reply

