The Lure of Fishing Lures

IMG_7463

In preparation for our canoeing and bass fishing trip for our anniversary, my wife and I went to visit the local Wal-Mart.  We needed to purchase a few lures for our arsenal and to purchase licenses.

Licenses and fishing tackle are expensive!  I should have expected it but it always hurts to drop more than a few dollars on tackle.  I long for the days when all that you needed was a Zebco 33 rod and reel combo, a few sinkers and bobbers, and a little time invested in digging some fishing worms.

Prior to making our purchase, I called my cousin Smiley to see what he recommended for the rivers that we plan to fish.  Smiley is the best fisherman that I know.  I briefly told him what I already have and he made a few recommendations.

My wife purchased the basic fishing license and the required conservation stamp.  I purchased the sportsman’s package which covers hunting, fishing, trapping, and the conservation stamp.  I also purchased the trout stamp to go with the package.  In total, our licenses set us back $75.00!

As far as tackle goes, I already had the basics and quite a few lures and such.  I just needed a few extras to add to the arsenal.  I ended up purchasing:

The two Rebels were a decent deal at $2.96 each.  The Heddon Torpedo was reasonable at $5.96.  But the Rapalla was $7.46!  It’s painful to pay that much for a lure.  However, I’ve had more luck on Rapalla sinking minnows than any other lure I’ve used.

We’re getting excited about celebrating our anniversary and spending time out on the canoe slaying the small-mouth.

If you have any other gear recommendations or ideas, or any questions or comments, I’d love to hear about it.

If you enjoyed this post, you may also like How to Tackle Your Fishing Tackle and Canoeing the Gauley River.

5 thoughts on “The Lure of Fishing Lures

    • Thanks for the tip my friend! I’ve got a few different options to try out over the next several trips. Hopefully I’ll have some success. And as always, whatever happens will find its way to SmoothingIt. Thanks for reading Ken.

  1. I love the Spro BBZ-1 Pricey
    I also like the floating 8″ shallow diver in trout
    Color.
    And I have a 7″ green three treble Abrogast Jitterbug. It’s amazing that pike and smallies will smash a lure half their size.

    Have a great trip.

    • I’ve never used bigger baits but it sounds like I should give it a chance. It is amazing that they’ll take the big lures. I’ll research the three that you recommended. Thanks for the tips!

  2. Pingback: Canoeing the Greenbrier River (Day 1) | SmoothingIt.com

Leave a Reply

