A Headlamp for the Outdoorsman

The Petzl Tikka Plus 2 is an excellent headlamp for the outdoorsman.

The Petzl Tikka Plus 2
is an excellent headlamp for the outdoorsman.

Through years of research and personal use, I have found that a woodman’s best possible lighting solution for outdoor adventures is an LED headlamp. They are light, small, and incredibly convenient.

Evolution of Outdoor FlashlightsI began my wilderness adventures with large incandescent flashlights. My first were military style “L” shaped flashlights and I still have several of them laying
around here on our property. Later, I purchased a Maglite as it provided much more light. The weight was a challenge but it went with me for every car,
canoe, bicycle, or backpack camping trip. Eventually, LED technology became a much better option. For years, I carried a small LED light with a thumb button on/off switch. It was small, provided a good bit of light, and was easy on battery use.

During my last outing, a fellow woodsman carried two light sources: One tripod-type LED light (I’ll be purchasing one of these in the future) and an LED headlamp. I was amazed at how versatile and convenient these proved to be. He could provide hands-free lighting for any task. We discussed both of his lights at length and I was sold on the two-light approach for most trips and only the headlamp for trips where weight and space were an issue.

If you’ve visited this site before, you already know that I research extensively before making a purchase. Headlamps are no different and were researched based upon
the following selection criteria: red-light capability (doesn’t affect night vision and is great for writing at night), lumen count, battery use, reliability, the ability to tilt downward, and ease of use.

The Petzl Tikka Plus 2 excelled in all of these criteria. It functions in both white and red LED mode. On the headlamps maximum setting it provides 70 lumens, which is more than my previous hand-held LED delivered. According to Petzl’s website, on economic mode, the Tikka Plus 2 can reach a burn-time of 185 hours and is lithium battery capable. Based upon many, many reviews, I found that the Tikka Plus 2 is incredibly reliable. Most reviewers indicated that they had never had an issue with it. It also tilts downward which I found incredibly useful. With a quick review of the instructions, I was operating the Tikka Plus 2 with no issues whatsoever. The on/off button is easy to find and easy to manipulate.

Crazy Eyes

The Petzl Tikka Plus 2 is comfortable, easy to use, and extremely versatile.

Based upon all of these criteria, I have found that the Petzl Tikka Plus 2 headlamp is an excellent lighting option. It has already proven itself incredibly useful here on our property (lately I’ve been using it to locate and fix water leaks) and expect that it will be an invaluable addition to my backwoods gear.

9 thoughts on “A Headlamp for the Outdoorsman

  1. Nice review. As I am in the market for a new headlamp, I appreciate the insight. I have 2 headlamps currently; one ‘Energizer’ brand, which stays in my hunting gear and does well, and one original Petzl Tikka. The Tikka has to be every bit of 20 years old, and it still works great. While the Tikka only has ‘on’ or ‘off’ capabilities, it still burns brightly and is a miser on batteries. Petzl is a great brand that provides excellent products. I will be picking up a Tikka Plus 2 headlamp to add to the mix.

    • Thanks Brent! I am really impressed with the light and am sure you will be as well. Hopefully we’ll both be using them in the backcountry someday soon!

  2. Pingback: How to Tackle Your Fishing Tackle | SmoothingIt.com

  3. Pingback: Camping in the Backyard | SmoothingIt.com

  4. Pingback: “Army Training” the Children and Camping at Sleepy Creek Lake WMA | SmoothingIt.com

  5. Pingback: Opening Day of Bow Season | SmoothingIt.com

  6. Pingback: Anticipation for The Cranberry | SmoothingIt.com

Leave a Reply

