Backpacking in the Wild – New York City

Rockefeller Center at Christmas

Rockefeller Center at Christmas

**Updated 12/18/12**

Even for an old mountain man like me, the backpacking adventure in New York City proved to be an enjoyable experience. This adventure had little to do with the outdoors and I initially mentioned it only because I had planned to make a poster for SmoothingIt.com for the Today Show. Accepting that I am running the risk of seeming more like a Facebook profile as opposed to a professional website dedicated to the outdoors, I am going to provide a quick recounting of this adventure.

My Wife and I Enjoying a Carriage Ride Through Central Park

My Wife and I Enjoying a Carriage Ride Through Central Park

We arrived in NYC via bus at about 6 am. I had completed the SmoothingIt.com poster on the bus during the wee hours of the night and was ready for demonstration at the Today Show. Sadly, they were not filming in NYC as they had moved to Connecticut to cover the tragedies unfolding there. We studied a map and decided to continue with our plans. We left Rockefeller Center and traveled about forty blocks on foot towards the Metropolitan Museum of Art. We stopped about half-way and took a carriage ride through Central Park. It may have been a very touristy thing to do, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. Eventually we arrived at the Met where we were treated to paintings from a variety of famous artists such as Matisse, Bellows, Monet and van Gogh.

Edvard Munch "Scream"

Edvard Munch “The Scream”

We traveled the forty blocks back to the Museum of Modern Art. This was probably the highlight of the trip as my wife and I were equally delighted in seeing van Gogh’s The Starry Night and Edvard Munch’s The Scream. Both paintings were awe-inspiring. I’m no art critic so I’ll leave the details to those more qualified than an old
woodsman. However, even to an untrained eye, these paintings were not only incredible pieces of art, but were also extremely emotional to see.

Radio City Music Hall

Radio City Music Hall

We kept ourselves busy amongst the steel and concrete mountains and the hustling and bustling people until the conclusion of our evening. We had pre-ordered tickets to see the Radio City Rockettes’ Christmas Spectacular. Initially, I wasn’t excited about seeing something this “cultured.” But as the show unfolded, I couldn’t help but be impressed with their performance. Their synchronization and attention to detail was uncanny. I was utterly amazed.

I did find a couple of lessons learned which are equally important in the big city as they are in the backwoods. First and foremost, do a thorough inventory and functions check of all of your equipment prior to your adventure. As the bus slowly rolled away, we realized that we had left our camera’s battery in our other backpack. This left me backpacking a camera and its extra lenses and weight all day without the capability of using them. As the day went on, I also realized that my trusted Wolverine boots have proven themselves to be excellent for outdoor adventures but are little comfort when trekking across miles of concrete streets and sidewalks.

**Original Post 12/14/12**

Tonight, my wife and I are taking a trip to New York City (everytime I say it I can hear the Pace Picante commercial in my head.)

We’ll be at the Saturday (12/15/12) filming of the NBC Today Show, Weekend Edition. Keep your eyes open for a crazy-looking mountain man with a big beard and large “SmoothingIt.com” sign. If you see me, make sure to let me know here on the site.

After I return to the Great State of West Virginia, I’ll be recounting this adventure in a Rough Notes from the Woods.

Leave a Reply

